

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 1, 2018 Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysical Society Announces Winners of the 2018 SRAA Poster Competition

The 24 winners of the annual Student Research Achievement Awards were recognized at the 62nd Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony on February 19. These students were selected by judges from the Society's subgroups for their outstanding presentations during the poster competition. One hundred and eighty-eight students participated in the competition. The winners are:

Bioenergetics

Zhiyu Zhao, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign MICROSCOPIC VIEW OF THE OUTWARD- TO INWARD-FACING TRANSITION PATHWAY OF THE HUMAN DOPAMINE TRANSPORTER.

Bioengineering

Alexander Komin, Johns Hopkins University CELL-PENETRATING PEPTIDE FOR TRANSCELLULAR TRANSPORT: THE EFFECT OF PHYSICO-CHEMICAL PROPERTIES ON PERMEABILITY.

Dana Reinemann, Vanderbilt University BIO-FUNCTIONALIZED CORE-SHELL MICROPARTICLES FOR HIGH FORCE OPTICAL TRAPPING.

Biological Fluorescence

Giancarlo Bruni, University of Colorado Boulder DECIPHERING THE ROLE OF BACTERIAL ELECTROPHYSIOLOGY IN MECHANOSENSATION.

Biopolymers in Vivo

Shunshi Kohyama, Keio University, Japan CELL-SPACE CONFINEMENT EFFECTS ON MIN PROTEIN WAVES INSIDE MICRODROPLETS.

Cryo-EM

Mengyu Wu, The Scripps Research Institute PUSHING SIZE AND RESOLUTION LIMITS OF SINGLE PARTICLE CRYO-EM AT 200 KEV.

Exocytosis & Endocytosis

Ani Nichol, Brigham Young University CONFORMATIONAL CHANGES OF SNAP-25 DUE TO ENVIRONMENTAL CONDITIONS.

OFFICERS

President Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

President-Elect David Piston University of Washington in St. Louis

Past-President Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

Secretary Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Jane Clarke Linda Columbus Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Arthur Palmer Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Jennifer Ross David Stokes Joanna Swain Pernilla Wittung-Stafeshede

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards Betsy Komives

Early Careers Bert Tanner

Education Gina MacDonald

Finance Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

Member Services Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating Jane Clarke

Professional Opportunities for Women (CPOW) Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs Edward Egelman

Publications Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Lukas Tamm

Intrinsically Disordered Proteins

Shannon Esswein, University of California, Los Angeles IDENTIFICATION OF SEGMENTS IN VARIABLE DOMAINS OF IG LIGHT CHAINS THAT DRIVE FORMATION OF AMYLOID FIBRILS.

Mechanobiology

Debadrita Modak, Ohio State University RESOLVING THE MECHANISM OF ADHESION MEDIATED BY A NON-CLUSTERED DELTA-1 PROTOCADHERIN.

Membrane Biophysics

Estefania Barreto-Ojeda, University of Calgary, Canada LIPID BINDING AND LIPID-UPTAKE IN P-GLYCOPROTEIN: COMPARISON OF THE INWARD-AND OUTWARD-FACING CONFORMATION.

Nidhi Kundu, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali, India EXPLORING A NOVEL OLIGOMERIZATION MECHANISM OF THERMOSTABLE DIRECT HEMOLYSIN, A PORE-FORMING PROTEIN.

Wandi Zhu, Washington University in St. Louis MOLECULAR BASIS OF MEXILETINE RESPONSE VARIABILITY IN SODIUM CHANNELS WITH LONG QT MUTATIONS.

Membrane Structure and Assembly

Deniz Aydin, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland A COMBINED COMPUTATIONAL AND EXPERIMENTAL STUDY TO INVESTIGATE THE ROLE OF COQ9 IN PROMOTING COQ BIOSYNTHESIS.

Adree Khondker, McMaster University, Canada MEMBRANE CHOLESTEROL REDUCES POLYMYXIN B NEPHROTOXICITY IN RENAL MEMBRANE ANALOGUES.

Younghoon Oh, Sogang University, South Korea LATERAL DIFFUSIVITY OF CHOLESTEROL DEPENDS ON ITS SPATIAL ARRANGEMENT IN LIPID MEMBRANES.

Molecular Biophysics

Sudipta Lahiri, Wesleyan University HOMOLOGY MODELING AND STRUCTURAL ANALYSIS OF S. CEREVISIAE MSH4 AND MSH5 PROVIDE INSIGHT INTO DNA BINDING AND SPECIFICITY.

Madlen Luckner, Humboldt University of Berlin OLIGOMERIZATION AND NUCLEAR SHUTTLING DYNAMICS OF VIRAL PROTEINS STUDIED BY QUANTITATIVE MOLECULAR BRIGHTNESS ANALYSIS USING FLUORESCENCE CORRELATION SPECTROSCOPY.

Md. Mahfuzur Rahman, University of Hyogo, Japan CRYSTAL STRUCTURE OF A BACTERIAL ABC HEME EXPORTER IN THE APO FORM.

Pradeep Sathyanarayana, Indian Institute of Science, India CHOLESTEROL PROMOTES CYTOLYSIN A ACTIVITY BY STABILIZING THE INTERMEDIATES

DURING PORE FORMATION.

Motility & Cytoskeleton

Jeffrey Moore, University of Colorado Boulder ORGANIZATION AND DYNAMICS OF GLIDING FLEXIBLE FILAMENTS.

Nanoscale Biophysics

Yuan-I Chen, The University of Texas at Austin MEASURING OLIGONUCLEOTIDE HYBRIDIZATION KINETICS IN SOLUTION USING A TIME-RESOLVED 3D SINGLE-MOLECULE TRACKING TECHNIQUE.

Sonisilpa Mohapatra, University of Wisconsin-Madison GROWTH PHASE DEPENDENT EFFECTS ON SPATIAL DISTRIBUTION OF E. COLI CHROMOSOMES AND RIBOSOMES.

Permeation & Transport

Adela Krizova, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria INTERPLAY OF CRAC CHANNELS WITH CA²⁺ ACTIVATED K⁺ CHANNELS.

Zhenning Ren, Baylor College of Medicine CRYSTAL STRUCTURE OF AN EIIC TRAPPED IN AN INWARD-FACING CONFORMATION.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society's Annual Meetings, visit <u>www.biophysics.org</u>.